Interactive Digital Resources Series, Part 1: Valentine’s Day

Hello and welcome to a new four part series on my blog. This series will show you how you can easily incorporate interactive digital resources into your lesson plans. In each post I will be highlighting at least one resource that I have used in my classroom. I will also be sharing the theme of each lesson that I used each resource for, but it can really be applied to any topic.

As February is drawing to a close and this cold, cold winter is nearing its end, we can finally start looking forward to spring. For me, the real precursor to the first warm spring breeze is Valentine’s Day. Whilst there still might be a chill in the air, there is no better way than to warm up a classroom of cold kids with a lesson on love.

This was a really fun lesson for me to prepare. I always find lesson plans that centre around special days go down well with my class, as it changes up the routine, and they know that the lesson nearly always finshes with a fun game or activity! Plus I got to teach my students’ one of my favourite childhood songs: Skinnamarinky  (who else remembers the Elephant Show?). My students loved this almost as much as I did.

For the Valentine’s Day themed activity for this lesson, I created my own wordsearch using Discovery Education’s  wordsearch maker. On the wordsearch I used vocab that I had introduced at the start of my lesson using these flashcards.

Wordsearches are a great way to close of a lesson, as I find they really absorb the students’ attention, and they are less likely to become distracted and rowdy as they realise that the lesson is drawing to a close. They are also a good way for students to develop their reading skills.

You can find the wordsearch that I used attached to the bottom of this post, or you can create your own by following this link.

Valentine’s Day Wordsearch

Published by

samesamebutteaching

Twenty-something year-old ESL teacher currently living in Navarra, Spain.

Leave a comment